[ View Forums | Start New Thread | Search ]     [ Join | Login ]     en
FAQ: What makes graff artists tick? ( [Expand] [RevSort] )
Post New Message in Thread   [Lock  Move  Delete  Archive]
  20 Jan 05 09:58 PM | Edit Reply | What makes graff artists tick?
Christo
10 Posts

Ignore User
I'm studying graff for my course at uni and I'm trying to find out why artists do burners, tags etc. Crime or urban artform?
  20 Jan 05 10:03 PM | Edit Reply | RE: What makes graff artists tick?
reack
141 Posts
Stokieeeeeeee
Ignore User
Posted by Christo:I'm studying graff for my course at uni and I'm trying to find out why artists do burners, tags etc. Crime or urban artform?

im not very good but i do graffiti cos i enjoy it...same way some people like football or whatever. and wen you do something really good, or burn someone whos good, its make ya feel proud. and i think some graffiti is art, but a lot of its jus handstyles etc which are usually pretty ugly and are jus a way for the less arty people to get respect, handstyles are difficult to develop and get up with so i think it does show talent, but only to the people who are "in the know" with graffiti. well thats my opinion neway...
  20 Jan 05 10:23 PM | Edit Reply | What makes graff artists tick?
ELP
1138 Posts

Ignore User
Posted by Christo:I'm studying graff for my course at uni and I'm trying to find out why artists do burners, tags etc. Crime or urban artform?

it's fun, it's creative, it's productive, being able to "watch your name go by", the fact that people will look and your work and wonder who it really is behind the pseudonym, there is about a million reasons people may graff

but as for me

I was and still am an artist at heart and i was interested in graffiti for about 3 or 4 years before i actually started painting due to the fire being re-kindled after i saw style wars for the first time. the satisfaction after creating something that you can be proud of.